Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (TC_Mastercraf_X5)      Join Date: Feb 2013       05-31-2013, 1:13 PM Reply   
So I left my boat at the dealership to get some minor things worked on (exhaust riser leaking and shaft packing). I have a 2000 mastercraft that is a DD, so by no means is the cover new. None the less when rain gets in it normally flows out the plug hole no issues. Well the dealership after lake testing it left the plug in for a week prior to getting around to working on it. During this week it rained a TON and the boat was pretty well full to the floor boards. Then when they finally did work on it they said starter was bad and want $395 to fix it. Do you think the starter going was from the water sitting in there for a week or just the age of the boat?
Attached Images

Old     (TC_Mastercraf_X5)      Join Date: Feb 2013       05-31-2013, 1:35 PM Reply   
Minnesota Inboards in New Germany, MN was the dealership. They told me its a marine starter it could stand to get wet and it was old. When I asked if they could help me out since they didnt pull the plug their response was tough luck.
Old     (boardman74)      Join Date: Jul 2012       05-31-2013, 1:49 PM Reply   
Not sure if it would have caused it, but surely wouldn't do it any good. Marine or not its not designed to be submerged. if I remember correctly marine starters are just spark protected due to fumes. Thats the difference, they are not water proof. I guess you know where not to take your boat next time. Personally I think there are better places in the metro for boat work. I had a boat over there last fall on consignment and wasn't at all happy with the way they took care of it. Long story.
Old     (bryce2320)      Join Date: May 2012       05-31-2013, 1:58 PM Reply