Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (Knotayooper)      Join Date: Jul 2014       09-23-2014, 12:46 PM Reply   
Ok people I'm hoping I can get some opinions here... I am new to wake sports. This year I bought a 1999 Air Nautique for which I thought we were going to be mostly tubing and skiing. The is a perfect DD boat for that. However we tried surfing and we LOVE it, even the 5 yr old does it tandem with my wife.

My question is we cannot get a good surf pocket. It seems we can get it steep enough, but then you're right on the platform. Here's our set-up we run with 750 in rear locker offset to port, 400 surf side at engine compartment, and 300 in the ski locker... I have also tried maybe 150 opposite side near engine, and 400 in the bow, neither worked too well.

I have created a manual NSS that extends 2.5in out and 1in. down with limited results, however its better than without.

So my question is, do I sell this boat and upgrade to a newer v-drive 2000 Super Air Nautique 210, or maybe stretch it to a Axis A20. Reason for the Axis is I may have a lead on a 2013 demo boat.

Thanks for your help... Ryan
Old     (JayManAR)      Join Date: Dec 2012       09-23-2014, 1:51 PM Reply   
I may know of a '13 A20 for a good price. PM me if you end up pursuing that route. Keep in mind that the '14+ Axis boats have the surfgate option, but a listed Axis still throws a really nice surf wave when properly weighted.
Old     (wakebordr11)      Join Date: May 2001       09-23-2014, 1:55 PM Reply   
Centurion Avalanche, MB Sports, Tige

These boats will surf better out of the box than a 2000s Superair...
Old     (trayson)      Join Date: May 2013 Location: Vancouver WA       09-23-2014, 6:12 PM Reply