Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Toofast22)      Join Date: Aug 2011       07-10-2016, 1:11 PM Reply   
Hey guys,

I've been a recreational wakeboarder for a while and been looking to get a boat now because I want to get more serious about it. I'm 5'9 175-185lb. I currently wakeboard behind a fishing boat lol with a 2010 Liquid Force Trip 142cm without center fins. I am not experienced by any means but to me it feels too locked into the water (maybe the molded fins). I was looking for a board a little shorter but im not sure if thats a good idea going to 3 stage rocker. The 142cm just feels like its too long and a lot of weight to me on the trip.

I was basically wondering of the above boards which would be recommended. I know the camber boards are something completely new to get used to but I like the fact it protects your knees. I played hockey most of my life and my left knee is already messed up to an extent. What I gathered is:

Parks Air core: Stable and forgiving, not very fast, requires re-learning how to ride, easier on knees
One Timebomb: Very fast and excellent pop but not very forgiving if you botch landings
LF Harley: Excellent pop and forgiving in the flats, not sure about weight versus the timebomb and air corer.
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-10-2016, 4:53 PM Reply   
My .02 is that board weight means almost nothing and that air core boards are fragile.

where the weight matters are in the tip and tail outside your feet. I ride exactly the same as I do on an 8lb Ronix as I do on my 9lbs slingshot, 10 lbs control and 12lb humanoid. Why? All the weight is in the center of the board, and tips and tails are milled thin.

At that weight you should be in a 140-142.