Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Non-Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (fouroheight68)      Join Date: May 2006       02-02-2015, 9:07 AM Reply   
So I have been using Lyft and Uber for a couple years now, and I always had great experiences, so I actually signed up to be a driver a couple weeks ago. I already work downtown Sacramento, and have a 45 min commute home stuck in traffic, so I decided to turn it on around 6 on Friday night. It was nonstop rides until I finally turned it off at 8:30 - I ended up meeting really fun people, having some pretty funny conversations, and I pocketed about $100 for about 2.5 hours "work". I turned it on Saturday, did a couple rides and made another $50 (all within a few miles from my house). I have a pretty good job, so don't really need the money, but I think it's pretty fun, and I've been putting the money aside for my wife and I do splurge on something fun. I decided I'm going to try to hit the Friday "pre drunk" crowds after work a few times a month. I am especially impressed with the tips - some of the people tipped the full value of the fare, sometimes $10 in just one tip. People seem to enjoy themselves, and appreciate riding in a new lexus versus a beat up taxi. Plus, I think I play pretty good music.

Does anyone else use Lyft or Uber? Do you have a preference? I think I'll sign up as a driver for Uber too, they offer $500 if you come over from Lyft. If you want to give it a try, you can use my code for $10 credit https://www.lyft.com/invited/JW8DTH