Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Trick Tips

Old     (timelinex)      Join Date: Oct 2014       09-24-2015, 12:35 PM Reply   
I'm a beginner wakeboarder (have done it maybe 10-15 times so far), but I use to skate in my youth(and was really good) and I still occasionally snowboard. So not much time on a wakeboard, but many of the skills are transferable. I'm pretty comfortable with most maneuvers on the surface (riding,180s,cutting etc..)

I can do ollie 180s and just started landing BS 180's of the wake. I'm currently working on clearing the wake and have landed on the wake a few times. After watching videos of me, I see that my problem is I'm still absorbing the wake, since I'm literally trying to ollie off the wake like I would a skateboard. I will try to correct this on the next time out and that should have me clearing the wake.

Obviously I need to work on getting all this down reliably and doing it FS and switch. However I also like to always progress forward and try new tricks (between practicing old ones). Keeps things interesting for me and pushes me to progress faster overall.

I think I will probably try 360's (I can do ollie 360's with a snowboard, so next just gotta transfer the skill over) and practicing grabs.

Up through that, it's all stuff I've done one way or another many years ago on a skateboard or snowboard. So I'm confident in learning it, just a matter of practice/time to rebuild the muscle memory.