Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old     (tmb80)      Join Date: May 2010       05-25-2015, 4:25 PM Reply   
I've been surfing for quite a few years and have ridden everything from liquid force when we got started to phase 5, inland surfer, etc... In some recent reading I've come across posts that suggest the custom boards (doomswell, soulcraft, chaos, etc..) are only good for surf style and that any company will make a good skim style and there really isn't any difference. Is this truly the case? Am I wasting money on skims that run $600? I like supporting the smaller custom guys but don't want to spend a couple hudred extra if not worth it.
Old     (Chaos)      Join Date: Apr 2010       05-26-2015, 8:13 AM Reply   
Custom skims are just that, custom, they can be customized to the rider or customized with graphics/colors. A good skim board is going to run at least $600 if not more. Anything with carbon fiber or carbon/kevlar will be at least that much. Carbon fiber and other high strength to weight ratio fabrics allow you to make the board lighter and stiffer than just fiberglass alone. Cheaper skim boards are pressure molded and more or less solid chunks or a matrix of cheap plastics and other materials.

Also beware of boards that completely painted. Overseas factories cover cheaply made boards with paint to make them look showroom quality, but the underlying construction is often really bad.

Not all custom skims are equal. Many custom surf-style companies really don't know how to make a good pro style skim; their skims end up being more like a surf board, thicker with weird rockers, etc. The same goes for skim companies, they make laughable surf-style board.

Nick
Old     (wakemitch)      Join Date: Jun 2005       05-26-2015, 8:56 AM Reply