Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old    boarderrr            08-05-2014, 6:40 PM Reply   
Hey guys,

I'm looking to buy my first wakesurf board. Does anyone know any good boards? I'm not really sure wether I like surf or skim style better. I usually wakeboard so I'm new to wakesurfing. I go wakesurfing whenever I can though. I was looking a lot into shred stixx and have heard a lot of good and some bad as well. It would need to be a relatively cheap but I still want a quality board and not a "beginners" board.
Thanks!
Old     (Chaos)      Join Date: Apr 2010       08-06-2014, 6:50 AM Reply   
Relatively cheap is pretty relative. There are lots of good boards out there, but most will be in the $500 to $800 range. The first thing is tell us a little more about your height and weight.

Nick
Old     (phathom)      Join Date: Jun 2013       08-06-2014, 11:00 AM Reply   
If you're new, you probably want a surf style board. That's where a lot of people start out. They are generally a little more stable and are good for carving around, having a good time on the wake and maybe getting some airs.
Skim styles tend to be a lot looser and are made to be able to do spins easier, but they are generally not as stable or straight tracking as a surf style is. This is due to how they track through the water and their much smaller fin setups.

Most people prefer to have not just one board, but a variety of boards, maybe even just one skim, one surf, or a few of each. Each board is going to have different characteristics from another board, even as little as being a model year different.