Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old     (Centurion17)      Join Date: Feb 2014       05-29-2014, 8:08 PM Reply   
Hello all.

First off, total noob here. 40 yr old getting into new hobby after 20 yrs of mx tearing up my body. Any advice on surf set up for 05 centurion storm series. 750 lb sacs in port and starboard, 250 lb in front. Got a Hyperlite broadcast 4'9". I'm 5'10, 165 lbs.

I've surfed before (years ago) behind old direct drive with half this wake, so I thought this would be easy. With my boat, I cannot stay in the pocket. As soon as I throw the rope I fall right out the back or drive too fast toward swim deck. Setup: Totally filled bow and port side and put 3 people on port side leaving only driver. 10-11 mph. New to this so not a lot to compare to, but seems like a big enough wave to me. I've had advice that my board sux (get an IS Tako), and that I need more bow weight. Not a whole lot of cash left to throw around trying this n that.

Thanks for any advice.
Old     (boardjnky4)      Join Date: Dec 2011       05-30-2014, 5:02 AM Reply   
Should be surf able, but storm series is not a centurion model, it's a trim level. We need to know if it's an avalanche, lightning, elite v, Enzo, cyclone, etc...

Second piece of advice is to calibrate your perfect pass with a GPS phone so you know your speed is accurate.

Then post pics here and we can help you dial in your wave.
Old     (racer808)      Join Date: Jan 2013       05-30-2014, 6:23 AM Reply   
Just got rid of all my MX stuff too. Very torn on not riding anymore but with all my injuries, surgeries, watching two deaths this season, my sons friend breaking his back & seeing another friend crush his C7 told me enough, walk away while I still can.