Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (janzy)      Join Date: Aug 2004       09-27-2016, 10:59 AM Reply   
I started riding more cable this year and I feel like I'm wrecking my knees when I hit big kickers. I can ride behind the boat all day with no problems, but one good jump off the kicker at the 2.0 and I feel I should call my doctor to plan ahead for surgery.

The cable operator told me I should change my bindings (LF Shane 2008) and that new boots would help protect my knees. I feel that's mostly bullcrap and he's just trying to sell me some gear.

So out of curiosity, did anyone notice an improvement in cushionning at the park after getting new bindings? I was skeptical about flex boards too, but I have since changed my mind. Maybe I'm wrong about bindings too?
Old     (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004 Location: Tyler       09-27-2016, 12:46 PM Reply   
no
Old     (jarrod)      Join Date: May 2003       09-27-2016, 3:08 PM Reply   
Nope.

Landing soft off the kicker is an acquired technique. I found that holding speed into the kicker so that you land with more speed is the ticket. Sounds strange but going bigger is better. Absorb the landing with your lower body by squatting down.
Old     (Ttime41)      Join Date: Nov 2011       09-27-2016, 4:31 PM Reply   
After riding a stiff Hyperlite at the cable years ago and upgrading to a Slingshot, I can assure you that the board makes all the difference. Obviously landing on edge will always be softer, but the bottom line is that you're not going to land exactly how you want to 100% of the time. Get a flex board and don't look back.
Old     (janzy)      Join Date: Aug 2004       09-27-2016, 5:01 PM Reply