Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (ride152)      Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Maumee River - Ohio       11-07-2017, 9:15 AM Reply   
Hello all!

I have been towing a G21 for a few years now and just ordered a 2018 G23. I tow with a 2016 F250 Diesel, so I know the rig will pull the G23 fine (as it does the G21), my concern lies in the trailer axles.

My G21 trailer used smaller (16 inch I believe) rims on its tandem axle. I'm considering moving up to the 18 inch rims for the G23 for purely cosmetic reasons. My concern is safely towing as I make a 1,000 mile round trip two to three times a year, other than that, it's just the 1/2 mile from the storage unit to my ramp. (I've read Jeff's post about safe towing...it started this search)

From a load bearing perspective, is it unsafe to go with an 18 inch rim unless you go with a triple axle for the Gseries? Thanks for your help!

(also posted over at Planet Nautique)

Nate
Old     (infinitysurf)      Join Date: Apr 2017       11-07-2017, 1:12 PM Reply   
I have a 2014 tandem axle (Boatmate) with 18" rims....carries SV244 that dry is 5600lbs but with gear, fuel, lead, etc....has gotta be close to 7000lbs, plus another 1500 for the trailer, so total of 8,500lbs going down the road. I tow every time I take the boat out and have had zero issues and took a 700 mile round trip thru the mountains this summer, also without issue.
Pretty sure my boat "dry weight" is almost exactly the same weight as G23. I know yours has higher freeboard, but mine is a little longer so guessing they equal out when it comes to weight.