Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (dezul)      Join Date: Jul 2012       07-29-2012, 8:12 AM Reply   
I know there is about 8 million of these type questions on this forum but I am looking for a little insight in purchasing a new board. About me, I am 5'9 and weigh about 210lbs. It is my first year into wakeboarding and I have been riding an 07 Ronix Vault 144cm with Divine bindings. I was having a difficult time getting very far over the wake on my jumps. So I decided to rent a performance board and see if it would help.

Well, I rented a 2012 LF Watson Classic 142 with some Watson CT bindings. My pop over the wake increased alot. Now I am almost going W2W on the rented board. I love the feel of the board/ binding combo. My question is, I know I am going to stick with a nice pair of closed toe bindings, but should I try another board or two and see how it feels before purchasing the Watson Classic? The guy at the board shop suggested I try the LF Harley. Anybody have any experience on the Harley?
Old     (Orange)      Join Date: Jun 2012       07-29-2012, 8:46 AM Reply   
If you want to save money one of the first things I'd try is close toed bindings on your Vault. The Vault should have plenty of pop for w2w jumps. It's possible the close toed bindings fit you better and are giving you the confidence to approach the wake more aggressively. W2w jumps don't take a particularly high amount of pop or board performance if your technique is correct. On the other hand, a new board and bindings will be fun to purchase and may have a placebo effect that does boost your performance.
Old     (dezul)      Join Date: Jul 2012       07-30-2012, 3:28 AM Reply