Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (budgemonster)      Join Date: Sep 2015       09-22-2015, 7:00 AM Reply   
Hi all

I am new to wakeboarding and am looking for board advice.

I have just started using the ramps and obstacles on our local cable park and have had an unbelievable offer on a board, but would like some advice as to weather this is suitable or worth getting as it will be better for me as I develop from using the parks hire boards.

I am in the UK
180cm tall
10st (140lb)
Size 9 uk (42)

The board is a Double UP Seven Park 133 (Brand New, un-opened £50)

From reading the board sizes for my weight it is spot on, but at the wake park they have been giving me 142 - 145 boards.
I have used a couple of times a 136 Jobe and this did feel much better, on the larger boards I feel like I am skimming the surface way too much, but do understand that they are easier to learn on.

I have always preferred a smaller Snowboard but am a little confused on the wakeboard weight to length chart accuracy, or for £50 this will be a great board as they only come in a 133, 137, 142 I assume they are meant t o be smaller.

In short for my size and for £50 will the 133 be good for me to progress with?

Cheers
Old     (fly135)      Join Date: Jun 2004       09-22-2015, 8:22 AM Reply   
Sounds a bit small but could work. I'm 142lbs and a little shorter than you and ride a Jobe Conflict 142. That's up from a Conflict 138 previously. Considering that you are geting the board for a song I guess it's worth riding for a while.
Old     (budgemonster)      Join Date: Sep 2015       09-22-2015, 8:54 AM Reply   
This seemed an average chart, off my weight it shows me to need a 133cm to 137cm ish

Rider Weight (lbs) Wakeboard Length (cm)
< 100 < 130
90-150 130-134
130-180 135-139