Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Lemonade)      Join Date: May 2015       05-04-2016, 9:16 AM Reply   
I'm loking to get a couple of helmets for the boat for everyone to use. Does anyone have any preferences? adjustability would be a great feature, our local supp,liers don't stock much and none of them water sport specific. I've found some decent deals on Pro-Tec Ace's online (both adult and junior). Any input is appreciated.

Also, has anyone had any experience wearing a helmet when tubing (don't flame me, its for the kids). I'm thinking all riders should wear them. I'm an Occupational Therapist and work frequently with brain injured individuals so don't give me the bubble wrap sermon, all these sports have calculated risks inherent to them.
Old     (behindtheboat)      Join Date: Aug 2006       05-04-2016, 9:25 AM Reply   
Triple 8 just released some water specific helmets, they are looking pretty nice. Not sure if they come with ear guards, which is something I recommend and prefer. I still have the Pro Tec Ace Water version, which is not made any longer (Pro Tec are not able to make water helmets)

Inherent risks are there, however I feel to a certain point helmets actually increase the impact caused to the skull when the impact is water, and not a solid object.
Old     (fly135)      Join Date: Jun 2004       05-04-2016, 9:28 AM Reply   
Not sure what good a helmet is going to do unless you are thinking the wakeboard might hit them in the head, but you asked about tubing. The main benefit is going to be protecting the ears from a ruptured eardrum. So you should look for helmets with ear flaps. That's what I use on the cable because I've been whacked in the ear a few times. But I don't bother with a helmet behind the boat.