Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (jboard1)      Join Date: Dec 2007       08-05-2011, 12:55 PM Reply   
Hello wakeworld. First off, i'm not good with engines, so i'm hoping to get some tips from some of you who may have knowledge about this. I have an 05 Wakesetter and am having some issues with the transmission. I noticed a bunch of oil in the hull of the boat the other day, and some slipping of gears when driving the boat. I checked the tranny fluid and it was bone dry. I filled it up with almost 2 qts of tranny fluid and the dip stick was at it's max level. I drove the boat around for maybe 10 minutes and everything seemed fine. i.e. no slipping of gears, no weird noises. I put it back on the lift and let it cool down to check the fluid again. I wiped the dip stick off, and checked the level...it was bone dry again, and I could see fresh oil in the hull (when i put my finger in it, it is the same reddish color as the fluid that i just put in from the bottle). Needless to say, the tranny is not holding fluid..i just am not sure what this means. Is this a very serious issue? If anyone has any thoughts about what may be wrong, please post your ideas. Thank you so much in advance.

Jeff
Old     (rdlangston13)      Join Date: Feb 2011       08-05-2011, 1:07 PM Reply   
I would say a tranny leaking all the fluid out that fast would be a serious issue
Old     (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004 Location: Tyler       08-05-2011, 1:30 PM Reply   
sounds like you got a leak! need to find out where its coming from....

Is it splattered all over the engine bay? right under the tranny? tranny cooler hoses attached?
Old     (jboard1)      Join Date: Dec 2007       08-05-2011, 1:37 PM Reply