Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (Salister)      Join Date: Nov 2013       01-01-2014, 6:47 AM Reply   
Ok so I'm in the market for a starter boat. 8k is my limit. I know my options are limited to late 80s early 90s direct drives and I am ok with that. I want an open bow with a tower but that's a lot to ask for with my budget but they exist. I'll take an open bow without a tower but I'm not interested in a closed bow unless it has a tower. With that said I have been looking at Tiges malibus sangers moombas correct crafts master crafts. But I'm new to this world and don't want to miss looking at all of them. Are their any other quality brands I should keep an eye out for? Thanks in advance
Old     (beleza)      Join Date: Mar 2010       01-01-2014, 8:07 AM Reply   
Late 80s ski nautique 2001- should be able to find one with tower for 8k
Early 90s sport nautique- finding one with tower for 8k might be tough
Early 90s malibu sunsetter
Early 90s supra sunsport
Early 90s sanger

That should be a good start
Old     (redsupralaunch)      Join Date: Aug 2002       01-01-2014, 8:29 AM Reply   
Important advice: For just 5K more, you should be able to get a boat without any wood. Supra was the first boat to get got rid of wood stringers and floors in 1992 in most but not all models. You will find a ton of non wood open bow boats in the 13K range most will also have fuel injection in stead of carb. Don't worry about the tower if it doesn't have one. You can buy a Monster Tower for $800

Last edited by redsupralaunch; 01-01-2014 at 8:34 AM. Reason: addition
Old     (norcalmalibu)      Join Date: Jun 2004       01-01-2014, 9:06 AM Reply   
The supra sunsport would be my first choice for an open bow in that price range.