Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Non-Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (grant_west)      Join Date: Jun 2005       06-15-2015, 3:30 PM Reply   
I've been doing the same commute for 20+ years. They have recently added metering lights along my back and forth route. This particular section of highway I have never Ever have any slow down or congestion on this section of the freeway. I know metering lights are supposed to ease the bottlenecks created when two freeways join. But all this particular one is doing is slowing everything down. I don't understand how these metering lights are making anything better. IMO things are 100% worse.
Attached Images

Old     (grant_west)      Join Date: Jun 2005       06-15-2015, 3:31 PM Reply   
Until the metering lights were installed this is a part of the freeway where you're going almost 70 miles an hour
Attached Images

Old     (grant_west)      Join Date: Jun 2005       06-15-2015, 3:33 PM Reply   
They have effectively turned eight freeway system that worked perfectly well into a parking lot
Attached Images

Old     (grant_west)      Join Date: Jun 2005       06-15-2015, 3:34 PM Reply   
There is a section on 101 southbound where you have about a half a mile run up until you enter the freeway now with the metering lights it's a drag race to the metering lights. Where people then have to slam on their brakes so that they can wait for a momentary flashing light to speed up again. Talk about a waste of gas and wear and tear on your brakes not to mention the CO output of cars speeding up slowing down and then speeding up again
Old     (fouroheight68)      Join Date: May 2006       06-15-2015, 3:47 PM Reply   
I never stop at these.
Old     (jarrod)      Join Date: May 2003       06-16-2015, 5:16 AM Reply