Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (jhmeg2)      Join Date: Jul 2014       07-19-2015, 8:43 AM Reply   
Hello all! I'm kind of new to boating and wakeboarding. I bought myself an 18' Four Winns Horizon bow rider last year for my birthday. I found a few Hyper Lite wakeboard (3) 2 older style and one newer)) for $100. I can get up and play. Cleared wake to wake a few times. Wiped out a few more. but I need a tower. Space is limited to have even one wakeboard and knee board on the deck. So, looking to get something that will do the job, and now cost me a lot of money. I try to get out each weekend if I can find people to go.. I am a disabled veteran, so I stay within my limits, don't need a $100,000 boat or a $2,000 tower, for as much as I use it. Looking for something that I can keep my original Bimini top too. Also, any tips for a better wake? I'm still learning. I found that moving three people to the aft seats, gives a better wake. And I try to get the driver to hold around 18-20 mph.

Ok, ready.... GO!
Old     (on_wi)      Join Date: Feb 2013       07-19-2015, 6:14 PM Reply   
I don't know much about aftermarket towers, but I think Monster towers have a good reputation.

As for improving the wake, I'd start by making sure the boat is balanced to ensure that both sides of the wake are nice and clean. It may clean up a little if you increase the speed as well. Another 2 mph may make a big difference.
As you get comfortable you'll find you might enjoy a bigger wake. You can accomplish that with people or water weight. When I had a bayliner with a tower I rode a few times with a boat full of people and it was plenty for my ability. If you like it you can accomplish the same thing with extra ballast bags on the seats and a pump.