Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (Wakesounds)      Join Date: May 2011       04-05-2014, 5:15 PM Reply   
Im debating wether to stuff 2 12" subs in a sealed enclosure under the helm or buy a single high output sub like maybe a JL 13w7 and port it. I'm looking for the most output I can get out of that space which is about 2 cuft. I've had both sealed and ported boxes in the past and I'm fine with both sound styles. What have people found to be the best option???
Old     (baitkiller)      Join Date: Jan 2010       04-05-2014, 6:44 PM Reply   
Why?
Old     (Boonejeepin)      Join Date: Oct 2012       04-05-2014, 7:04 PM Reply   
I am no audio expert but I have been told that surface area is king with a sub. 2cu ft sounds to be a bit small for a ported enclosure.
Old     (scottb7)      Join Date: Oct 2012       04-05-2014, 8:21 PM Reply   
My set up is simple but awesome:
polk dvc dual voice coil 12" sub peaks at 720w
alpine pdx 1.600m 600w mono straight in.
sealed box not sure exactly what size maybe about 1 or 2 cu ft...

others smarter can chime in but i think one well placed well powered sub is best bet...
Attached Images

Old     (BradM07SS)      Join Date: Jul 2011       04-06-2014, 4:56 AM Reply   
If you only have 2 cu ft to play with, get a sundown 12vz3 ported with 2500 rms amp pushing it. That would be about the loudest.

The easiest and simplest would be to get a kicker 15l7 sealed in 2 cu ft and push 1000 watt rms to it.
Old     (CHern5972)      Join Date: Jul 2012       04-06-2014, 6:06 AM Reply   
Im looking at selling my 2 typeR alpine 12's. Im looking at putting in a JL w712 and building a box. 1.375 cu. ft sealed enclosure as JL calls for. Possibly selling my 2 jl audio 600.1and upgrading to the 750.1.

any thoughts?