Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Old                11-30-2004, 4:56 PM Reply   
I am very new to the whole video editing thing and am looking for a good setup to start out with but that I won't outgrow in six months. I would like to get into a mac with some version of final cut. Witch version would be best? Can I go right to pro 4? And I have a few questions about hardware. I found a g5 on overstock.com that seems like a good deal(link at bottom). Will this system run pro 4? And last question can I use any monitor with a mac or due I have to buy one from apple.

Thanks

http://www.overstock.com/cgi-bin/d2.cgi?PAGE=PROFRAME&PROD_ID=737682
Old     (brinks)      Join Date: Mar 2002       11-30-2004, 10:46 PM Reply   
for just starting out that computer would run great with final cut pro. Running with scissors and Boombox were both done on a apple power book g4 laptop. I run an upgraded flat panal imac g4 with 3 external lacie hard drives. It runs just fine. I would recomend just getting final cut express then after you learn it you can upgrade to pro. also you should mess around with imovie just to get the hang of editing. final cut is alot to jump into if you have never edited before. You can use almost any monitor on the stand alone macs. Just not on the imac or emac computers
Old     (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       12-01-2004, 6:15 AM Reply   
thats not really a good deal. for $200 you can get a 1.8 with double the RAM. look at apple.com. free shipping too. personally, i would stay away from a mac, if this system is gonna double as a gaming/internet computer.

as for software, start with what the pros use. a slimmed down version of it anyway.
http://avid.com/freedv/index.asp

(Message edited by toolfan on December 01, 2004)