Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (MUNS)      Join Date: Jan 2012       07-15-2014, 3:08 PM Reply   
So I have someone who is interested in buying my boat. I have been talking with them through emails. They have agreed to buy the boat for the asking price without seeing it. They want to make the payment through paypal, and when I have received the funds they said they would have a shipping company pick the boat up and take care of any paper work and ship it to him abroad as he puts it.

Maybe he's legit but this all just seems to be going too easy. I have no experience with paypal. Obviously I wouldn't hand the title over without the funds in my bank account.

So what your opinion? am I being potentially scammed?
Old     (ss1234)      Join Date: Jul 2005       07-15-2014, 3:37 PM Reply   
yes
Old     (drnate)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-15-2014, 3:53 PM Reply   
It's a Craigslist/Paypal scam.

They will send you a phishing email that appears to be from Paypal, but it is not. It will show that you have money in your Paypal account, but you really have nothing.

Do an internet search, you can read about the details. Bottom line is if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is
Old     (downfortheride)      Join Date: Jun 2005 Location: SLC, UT 5600'       07-15-2014, 4:23 PM Reply   
I just had the same type of emails last week... I told him I would have to update the price by $10,000 since he's using PayPal then sent him my address of f#@kyouscammer@paypal.com
Old     (jamespjackson95)      Join Date: Jul 2012       07-15-2014, 4:31 PM Reply   
100% scam
Old     (MUNS)      Join Date: Jan 2012       07-15-2014, 5:12 PM Reply   
Well that's too bad. Why can't people just be honest?