WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wakeboarding Discussion (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   total noob looking for advice on board (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=802737)

RoarPants 07-14-2014 8:04 PM

total noob looking for advice on board

hey guys, i just had my first day off wake boarding last Thursday with some friends behind my boat. i was able to get up on my first try and after 2-3 hours i was able to ride some without face planting immediately afterwards. i was riding a 2011 trip 138. im 6ft and around 145lbs. im not looking for anything extremely serious because right now we are boarding behind my 2 boats an 1982 V20 with 175hp and a 1962 Boston Whaler Nauset with a 75hp. ive been told neither have an ideal wake according to my buddies. but i really fell in love with it and want to get my own board. i just want a good board that i can learn with and occasionally take to my local park. i was looking at a 2009 trip 138 that was still new but before i do anything i want yalls opinion. what should i look for?

slipknot 07-15-2014 10:56 AM

Its ok to be a noob, you have to start somewhere.;)

The LF Trip is a tried and true classic shape. I would not characterize it as a beginner board but you could progress faster on this board. The LF Watson classic is a softer landing board and more forgiving board for someone like yourself. It is always hard for a new boarder to pick a shape unless you can ride it before you buy it. With the fins removed for the park, the Trip is still a great board. I would go with the Trip or Super Trip if you want the best for what you are trying to accomplish. You also may want to try the RONIX Vault I think you will like this board alot! Good luck to you!

chrislandy 07-16-2014 2:59 AM